Cusco City

Cusco Town
La Compañia de Jesus, Cusco

Cusco, located in southern Peru, is a city with perhaps the most beautiful views in the world. It is surrounded by six mountains, some more than 6,000 meters high, as well as being the oldest city in the western hemisphere and the cradle of the ancient Inca civilization. And, of course, it is known all over the world for its proximity to the amazing archaeological ruins of Machu Picchu.

With a area of 76,225 km2, the district of Cusco is bordered on the north side by the district of Ucayali, on the south side by Arequipa and Puno, on the east side by Madre de Dios and on the west side by Apurímac, Ayacucho and Junín.

Sacsayhuaman, Cusco At present, after the redistribution of the districts in 1988, Cusco forms, together with the districts of Madre de Dios and a part of Apurímac, the region of the Incas.

Cusco, consist of 105 districts and 13 provinces, which are Acomayo, Anta, Calca, Canas, Canchis, La Convención, Cusco, Chumbivilcas, Espinar, Paruro, Paucartambo, Quispicanchis and Urubamba. Cusco, La Convención, Canchis, Quispicanchis and Chumbivilcas are the most populous.

The city of Cusco is located in the western part of the valley of the river Watanay, at a height of 3,350 meters and is considered one of the highest cities of the world.

It is located at 13º 30'45'' south latitude and at 71º 58'33'' west longitude from the meridian of Greenwich and is one of the most important and historically significant cities in Peru.




© 2000 - 2019 your travel guide of Peru - All Rights Reserved
Share This
Follow us on: